Mapdl.damorph(area='', xline='', rmshky='', **kwargs)#

Move nodes in selected areas to conform to structural displacements.



Non-structural area to which mesh movement (morph) applies. If ALL, apply morphing to all selected areas [ASEL]. If AREA = P, graphical picking is enabled. A component may be substituted for AREA.


Lines to be excluded from morphing. If ALL, exclude all selected lines [LSEL] from morphing. If XLINE = P, graphical picking is enabled. A component may be substituted for XLINE. If XLINE is blank (default), allow morphing of nodes attached to lines of the selected areas (AREA) which are not shared by unselected areas. See Notes for clarification.


Remesh flag option:

0 - Remesh the selected non-structural areas only if mesh morphing fails.

1 - Remesh the selected non-structural areas and bypass mesh morphing.

2 - Perform mesh morphing only and do not remesh.


The selected areas should include only non-structural regions adjacent to structural regions. DAMORPH will morph the non-structural areas to coincide with the deflections of the structural regions.

Nodes in the structural regions move in accordance with computed displacements. Displacements from a structural analysis must be in the database prior to issuing DAMORPH.

By default, nodes attached to lines can move along the lines, or off the lines (if a line is interior to the selected areas). You can use XLINE to restrain nodes on certain lines.

By default (RMSHKEY = 0), DAMORPH will remesh the selected non- structural areas entirely if a satisfactory morphed mesh cannot be provided.

If boundary conditions and loads are applied directly to nodes and elements, the DAMORPH command requires that these be removed before remeshing can take place.

Exercise care with initial conditions defined by the IC command. Before a structural analysis is performed for a sequentially coupled analysis, the DAMORPH command requires that initial conditions be removed from all null element type nodes in the non-structural regions. Use ICDELE to delete the initial conditions.

Distributed ANSYS Restriction: This command is not supported in Distributed ANSYS.